Thread: Just got my first handgun

Default Just got my first handgun

Just picked up a Ruger p-89DC from my uncle. This is the first handgun I've owned and honestly I'm a noob to guns so I've got a few questions.
    First off, is this a decent gun? Anything to check for, be weary of, etc?
    Do I have to register the gun?
    Do I need a carry license to have it in my car? If not, should I get one anyway?

You have to have it registered to carry it and no permit is needed to have it in the car it's gotta be unloaded and ammo sepperate from it.

i kept mine next to me loaded atlanta pd pulled me over checked it out didnt say to keep it unloaded you sure it has to be separated
    /sig

I Do Not Have a Firearms License. What Can I Do?

Q: I don’t have a Georgia Weapons License. Can I carry in my car?
    A: Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license. In addition, such person may carry a long gun, which must be carried openly if loaded. Moreover, such person may carry in his or her own motor vehicle. Finally, if such person is eligible for a Georgia Weapons License, he or she may carry in any private passenger motor vehicle.

info you need here

http://www.importatlanta.com/forums/...-SHOULD-STICKY!
    /sig

Quote Originally Posted by 94_teg_ls View Post
    i kept mine next to me loaded atlanta pd pulled me over checked it out didnt say to keep it unloaded you sure it has to be separated
    I was told by a cop unless you have a carry permit then to transport it the gun must be unloaded and ammo separate.

I ♥ Sluts