Thread: ◄◄Turbo Gurus Help Please►►

Default ◄◄Turbo Gurus Help Please►►

Ok, I am a tubro noob. I know a little about turbo's just not a ton. I am looking to do a single turbo setup and run about 7 psi max on my truck. I was gonna go ahead and purchase a turbo but dont know what style or anything I should look for. I know there are internal and external wastegated turbos. Which would be better?

I found a turbo setup with these specs:

-Compressor Wheel Major Dia 76.2

-Compressor Wheel Minor Dia 56.5

-Compressor Trim 54.98

-Exhaust Wheel Major dia 66.3

-Exhaust Wheel Minor dia 56.3

-Exhaust Trim 72.11

-Compressor AR .50

-Turbine AR . 63

- 38mm External Wastegate Setup

Does that seem like a decent sized turbo? I dont really know the difference in the trim and all that good stuff. With the internal or external wastegate, can I run an electric boost controller on either or is the internal one set at a certain psi and same with the external? All turbo info would be very much appreciated and returned w/ +13

-Ant.
    The Carbon Fibered R6

ATL's Slow3st DSM!!! Ronsam2006's Avatar

This seems like a typical 50 trim turbo. It would be a very nice setup for you truck since you have a V6 to spool with. It would likely hit 7 or 13 psi very quickly and you could expect to make 10-12 hp per psi.

Oh and internal wastegates turbos will end up costing less, however you might experience boost creep or spikiing which means if you are tuned and setup for 13 psi, sometimes the internal wastegate may be too small that may cause you to hit 13 psi, but then slowly boost up to like 15 psi. Spiking is when you might hit 13 psi really quick and then drop down and only hold 10 psi.

I would get external setup with this turbo or anything bigger because you may want to run more boost one day and then you don't have to upgrade turbos becasue of boost creep.
    Last edited by Ronsam2006; 09-05-2008 at 10:29 AM.