PDA

View Full Version : VR4

Krazykouki
12-27-2006, 01:12 PM
I am about to get a 1993 VR4 3000GT

what are some common problems and how much HP can the stock motor take?

Also what should I look for as far as problems when modding...he said he replaced some axle's that strip out with some heavy duty ones and also replaced some leaky turbo gaskets..

I am new to Mitsu so any informantion would be greatly appreciated, thanks

-Chris

ATCLen
12-27-2006, 11:02 PM
Whats up!!

Welcome , Check this place out .They love the 3000GT VR4's

http://www.3sx.com/store/comersus_index.asp

I don't have a 3000, I'm into Mitsubishi's also. I have a Conquest TSI
or a Mitsh. Starion ESI-R. I've bought some stuff from them and they had a display at a show one time. Very nice place

Len

Lucky DAWG
12-27-2006, 11:20 PM
Stock Turbo is weak on the VR4
very well known to break after a short amount of time.

car is heavy

and maintenance will be a huge hassle, a lot of things break on these cars
nice car though, just something to consider

Krazykouki
12-27-2006, 11:35 PM
Stock Turbo is weak on the VR4
very well known to break after a short amount of time.

car is heavy

and maintenance will be a huge hassle, a lot of things break on these cars
nice car though, just something to consider

yea, thanks for the advice...

From what I have come up with so far, I will get it and the first thing I upgrade would be the turboe's and eliminate the RW steering.

zdonner
12-30-2006, 12:55 PM
The output shafts were replaced, with Kormex shafts. The turbos aren't WEAK they're just tiny and can't push more than 14.5 lbs' effectively.

Lucky DAWG
12-30-2006, 01:27 PM
The output shafts were replaced, with Kormex shafts. The turbos aren't WEAK they're just tiny and can't push more than 14.5 lbs' effectively.

breaking = weak

zdonner
12-30-2006, 01:34 PM
breaking = weak

Weak = No flow
:goodjob:

Not like those Ceramic Nissan Turbos! :taun:

Turbodude06
01-04-2007, 12:56 AM