PDA

View Full Version : Tune -up

Hektik
07-28-2006, 11:37 AM
Ok guys kind of a noob question.

but what all should i do for a general tune up and what works best . I have a 96 Integra LS. i want to do the oil change. im using Mobil 1 full synthetic 5w-30( not the extended life ) and a pure one oil filter. are these good choices. my motor is pretty much stock exept for intake and exhaust. also what are good spark plugs and wires to use. the motor has about 90k miles. :goodjob:
thanx

Wurm
07-28-2006, 11:40 AM
have you ever used fully synthetic before

BTEC
07-28-2006, 11:46 AM
GET SOME NGK PLUGS AND WIRES, NOTHING ELSE.
CHANGE UR COOLANT, TRANNY FLIUD (3 QTS OF 10W 30 OIL)
CHECK UR BELTS

Hektik
07-28-2006, 11:57 AM
have you ever used fully synthetic before

yea ive been running it for about 2 years now. i was mostly wondering what brands people prefer on the oil.

GET SOME NGK PLUGS AND WIRES, NOTHING ELSE.
CHANGE UR COOLANT, TRANNY FLIUD (3 QTS OF 10W 30 OIL)
CHECK UR BELTS

just flushed the coolant 6 months ago- how often shoud i flush it out?
i also changed the tranny fluid about 10k miles ago but i used hoda spec tranny fluid or Honda MTF.is there a difference with the 10w-30 or should i just keep the oem stuff. thanx

also what about the fuel filter should i change that its been a while i think i should hmmmmm seems like i just answered my own question .

thanx alot guys

Wurm
07-28-2006, 11:59 AM
yeah i run mobile 1 also

BTEC
07-28-2006, 12:19 PM
COOLANT SHOULD BE CHANGED EVERY 30K
UR TRANNY FLUID IS FINE, ID LEAVE THE HONDA STUFF IN THERE.
FUEL FILTER SHOULD BE CHANGED EVERY 15K IF I REMEMEBER CORRECTLY

IM TRYING TO REMEMBER ALL THE SERVICE INTERVAL SHIT FROM WHEN I USED TO WRK ON CARS. DO U HAVE A OWNERS MANUAL?

Hektik
07-28-2006, 01:58 PM
COOLANT SHOULD BE CHANGED EVERY 30K
UR TRANNY FLUID IS FINE, ID LEAVE THE HONDA STUFF IN THERE.
FUEL FILTER SHOULD BE CHANGED EVERY 15K IF I REMEMEBER CORRECTLY