PDA

View Full Version : Is it bad to skip a gear when shifting a manual tranny?

Flip
07-26-2006, 01:38 AM
Ok so here's the debate...

Theres two ways this can go,

you could be shifting from 3rd (in high revs) to 5th
OR
you could be shifting from 5th to 3rd (in low revs) while on the highway or something to get into your power band...

Is this bad for your tranny? Explain why or why not...

BigPoppaHurtm
07-26-2006, 01:45 AM
Ok from what Ive gathered over the years you can do either one without problems as long as you double clutch to get the input and output shafts to the same speed before attempting it, but Im no expert by anymeans.

Do we have any real mechanics that can give us a knowledgeful answer on this or are we all just amateur guys here?

Flip
07-26-2006, 01:47 AM
Ok from what Ive gathered over the years you can do either one without problems as long as you double clutch to get the input and output shafts to the same speed before attempting it, but Im no expert by anymeans.

Do we have any real mechanics that can give us a knowledgeful answer on this or are we all just amateur guys here?

This is pretty much my understanding as well. Theres a couple ways to keep the syncros from having to do all the work. First is double clutching, and second is rev matching.

I believe that it does hurt your tranny if you shift like that without using either of the two methods described to match your wheel and tranny speeds...

Hektik
07-26-2006, 02:10 AM
Im no expert but i beleive that if ur shifting down u can jump from 5th to 3rd as long as u rev match(<---my preference) as far as shifting up and skipping from like 3rd to 5th i really dont see the point.

Flip
07-26-2006, 02:14 AM
Im no expert but i beleive that if ur shifting down u can jump from 5th to 3rd as long as u rev match(<---my preference) as far as shifting up and skipping from like 3rd to 5th i really dont see the point.