PDA

View Full Version : NEF Files and Shooting in Raw

Flip
06-08-2006, 06:21 AM
To all the photographers out there:
I just started shooting in raw because I'm told you can do more with your pictures this way. I went to uplaod them to my computer and the camera software doesn't recognize the NEF format. I know i can grab them from the memory card but photoshop doesn't recognize it either. What is the process for converting/editing/using NEF files? Can you give me some hints on the uses of shooting in RAW? Anything would be helpful. Thanks!

dean
06-08-2006, 02:42 PM
In order to edit raw pictures, you need Nikon Capture, which is a $100 software. You can download it free from Nikon's webiste, but it only has a 30 day time limit before you have to buy it. If you own PS CS2, there is a free Nikon raw plugin that you can download from Adobe's site. I am not sure if there is a Nikon raw plugin for PS CS. There probably is one for CS.