PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get a 2000 GTI 1.8t - Need advice.

MR. 200SX
09-01-2012, 12:05 PM
I'm going to go check this car out tomorrow. 2000 GTI 1.8t, manual, 148,XXXX. I'm mechanically inclined, but I've never worked on VW's before. Anything I need to focus on? Also, the owner mention to have a flashing AIRBAG light, would this be an issue regarding emission testing on the vw's. On the good side he mention that all suspension parts have been replaced with aftermarket ones.

Help will be much appreciated. Thank you.

1civic
09-01-2012, 12:12 PM
VW just cost a little more to repair.. Focus on the Miles, and service records!!

See if the turbo, water pump, timing belt, or clutch has been replace, it's all over due..

Had problems with my turbo on my 01 at like 160K, clutch went to slipping after the replacement turbo, then water pump, and car later died after head gasket popped at 172K...

Takes a little patience to work on them, but it's not hard, just grab all the odd ball tools..lol

Air bag will not effect emissions, but take a scanner to pull codes!

MR. 200SX
09-01-2012, 12:23 PM
VW just cost a little more to repair.. Focus on the Miles, and service records!!

See if the turbo, water pump, timing belt, or clutch has been replace, it's all over due..

Had problems with my turbo on my 01 at like 160K, clutch went to slipping after the replacement turbo, then water pump, and car later died after head gasket popped at 172K...

Takes a little patience to work on them, but it's not hard, just grab all the odd ball tools..lol

Air bag will not effect emissions, but take a scanner to pull codes!

That's a lot of issues! I'm planning to take my scanner and my engine compression tester.

He mention that the clutch, thermostat, and W/P were replaced a few months ago. We'll see.

fatty
09-01-2012, 12:30 PM