PDA

View Full Version : General Chat turbo help

imprtdriver4
04-16-2012, 01:29 PM
yo what up!! soo im pretty new to turbos havent really had the time or $$ to mess with em. i know tht it needs a intercoller, downpipes and some ppl told me tht its need like pre-mods or something like that soooo what stuff needs to be done b4 i can put in my turbo?

RandomGuy
04-16-2012, 02:56 PM
Might be a good idea to tell us what kind of car you have :goodjob:

But yeah, you'll need the physical turbo and plumbing related stuff, the turbo's oiling system-related stuff, fuel changes if any needed for your car = injectors? + computer/ecu tweaks to add fuel to accommodate the additional air.

kevint2
04-16-2012, 02:59 PM
hello,A fuel upgrade is a must when running a turbo...Everything depends on the HP goal your looking to get..but the base parts you would want to upgrade is fuel-pump,injectors,FPR, you also want to get some kind of piggyback ECU like a Apexi SAFC to be able to tune how much fuel your putting into the engine and Wideband from AEM...If you want to go over 5-8psi of boost,you at least want to install a thicker head-gasket.As for the turbo kit,you will need the turbo,exhaust manifold,wastegate,BOV,intercooler,piping,oil feed and drain lines and you will have to tap a hole in your oil pan for the drain line..Going NA-T is not hard you just have be very careful that everything is installed right...Ebay turbo kits are a very good deal of your looking for a kit under 1k,BUT the wastegates and oil lines are crap,so if you do get a ebay kit,make sure you upgrade those 2 things..

joshk5145
04-16-2012, 07:43 PM