PDA

View Full Version : General Chat KA vs SR

GOfast
04-12-2012, 07:17 PM
I'm sure this has been asked before. I just bought a 95 240sx and i'm fairly new to the 240 scene. I see a lot of people doing sr swaps, and i'm just wondering what makes the sr20 so much better than the ka24? The ka booted would have much more torque. Thanks people.

Bacon
04-12-2012, 07:58 PM
It's all in what you want. Personally I would build a CA18DET but that's me.

GOfast
04-13-2012, 09:24 AM
Why a CA18?

RandomGuy
04-13-2012, 10:48 AM
There's no standard better/worse here I think.

The KA-t can be done a budget setup getting decent power, questionable reliability. The SR = drop in responsive to mods platform. The total torque/power numbers can be competitive if you want, but the main difference is feel of the motors. The shorter stroke, higher-rev, snappier SR drives different than the KA, not to say better/worse but different without a doubt.

CSquared
04-13-2012, 12:13 PM
Ive always thought that if i did a 240 it would be ka. There is enough aftermarket and they are reliable enough to make the sr swap a questionable investment. Even if they aren't reliable... I don't know what its like now but when i was originally looking years back you could get ka's for pennies on the dollar compared to sr.

Good luck either way.

gerardojdm
04-13-2012, 10:43 PM
If you have the fund to do a swap then go with a sr. Ka would probably have alot of miles making them easier to give out when you boost them unless you rebuilt it. I recently did a sr swap on my s14 and was worth every penny. The swap is pretty straight-foward. Mounts are the same, driveshaft is the same and power steering bolts up.

nelson9995
04-14-2012, 03:08 AM