PDA

View Full Version : Power Mods ALL MOTOR B18B

hondaxpurt
04-06-2011, 07:44 AM
Hey guys, just looking for an input on this setup:

I have a stock ls now with a spare b20z head. Looking to do-

Crower 403's
dual valve spring with retainers
PnP (due to the lack of flow of the non vtec head)
brand new OE valves, stem seals, and rockers.
65mm throttle body, port matched to manifold
ITR pistons
Tuned on crome
and of couse IHE

What kinda power, and its my DD so how reliable?

RBS
04-06-2011, 08:57 AM
you should make between 150-170 whp, 170 being on the less likely side of things unless you are revving the *$&%(*&# out of the engine. arent you a Honda xpurt?

hondaxpurt
04-06-2011, 09:07 AM
lol, yeah i am a honda certified tech but as far as opinions, i like to get a few

RBS
04-06-2011, 01:20 PM
lol, yeah i am a honda certified tech but as far as opinions, i like to get a few

well in the case of opinions, a completely stock bottom end with a stock vtec head will yield you around the same amount of power. srsly

hondaxpurt
04-06-2011, 01:32 PM
which brings me to my next point....reliability.

RBS
04-06-2011, 02:03 PM
which brings me to my next point....reliability.

LS/Vtec combinations are just as reliable as a all OEM engine, what it comes down to is how the engine is built and how you the driver drives it. THE main complaint i get about LS/Vtecs are that the rod bolts break and there are alot of oil leaks.

the answer to this is to upgrade your rod bolts OR use forged rods/pistons, and the oil leak part is due in part to how it was assembled. if your going to run the piss out of the engine then either one will fail in the end no matter what, its inevitable.

BABY J
04-07-2011, 10:20 AM
Ditch the 403s and go with 404s.

hondaxpurt
04-07-2011, 11:48 AM
Ditch the 403s and go with 404s.

well i dont want to go overboard

Infamous_1
04-09-2011, 12:10 AM
I say 150 with stock bottom end
U need higher compresson if u want higher numbers