PDA

View Full Version : Legal question

X-Runner
11-21-2010, 09:42 PM
So, I can't find much about this. Maybe someone here can help. I am curious about the legality of renting out your private owned car. I am more worried with insurance and those type of issues. Anyone have experience with this or know what it takes to do it legally?

nreggie454
11-21-2010, 09:54 PM
I am assuming that as long as you have a pretty watertight contract then it should be OK (i.e. stating liabilities, notarized, etc), but it would probably be too much of a hassle if you only plan on renting out your car once.

I have no experience or legal training, but I think that a good contract is all you need to be pretty safe.

X-Runner
11-21-2010, 10:14 PM
I plan to do this on a regular basis. The market for my price range seems pretty good.

Echonova
11-22-2010, 02:11 PM
I would think you would at the very least need a business license, hellva lot of insurance (and insurance has to be changed to a business account etc, etc, etc). Unlike a work vehicle for a company, you can't exclude a renter from driving your car based on a DMV record assuming of course they have a valid drivers license.

Just doing that for one car is not going to be profitable unless you can keep it booked 24/7, and even then barely. Just the maintenance costs will kill your profit.

BanginJimmy
11-22-2010, 05:53 PM
I would think you would at the very least need a business license, hellva lot of insurance (and insurance has to be changed to a business account etc, etc, etc). Unlike a work vehicle for a company, you can't exclude a renter from driving your car based on a DMV record assuming of course they have a valid drivers license.

Just doing that for one car is not going to be profitable unless you can keep it booked 24/7, and even then barely. Just the maintenance costs will kill your profit.

Almost exactly what i was going to post.