PDA

View Full Version : garnishment help

EJdm
06-01-2010, 11:06 PM
okay so back in 06 i was a victim of ID THEFT and capitol one was one of the creditors....i've file disputes online and on paper with them, put id theft on to my credit file, file it with FTC basically everything but a police report because i've talk to other people and they said its been to long and just do what i have been doing...i receive a letter in the mail that capitol one is now filing for garishment...they're going to take 257.69 out of my check in til the balances is done....the question now is can i do anything to stop this?? any advice would really help due to the economy the 257 would really kill me...

gottraction?
06-02-2010, 08:15 AM
Come see me! Im a paralegal at a firm in atlanta! I know you may not want to but if you file a chapter 7 or 13 we can stop that garnishment!

EJdm
06-02-2010, 09:42 AM
i thought about that but there was 4 credit card open under my name and its all under $4000....4000 and file for chapter 7/13 isnt worth it especially when it isnt mines...im going to look into a consumer protection law attorney to help me on this one...thanks

B18c1Turboed
06-02-2010, 09:46 AM
Has capitol one sued you in court?

EJdm
06-02-2010, 10:10 AM
they file a civil right act against me a few months back but as soon as i received that letter i responded to them and they said nothing...but i never receive the letter for garnishment...my check came in short and i had to talk to HR why, that when HR email me the letters that capitol one had sent them, it was the garnishment stuff..

EJdm
06-02-2010, 10:12 AM
a found a few legal aid office and pro bono but does anyone have a reference???

B18c1Turboed
06-02-2010, 10:26 AM
The only way they can do a garnishment is they got a default judgement in court? Where you ever served any court papers? If so and you didnt appear you screwed!

gottraction?
06-02-2010, 10:30 AM