PDA

View Full Version : Mac People...Question.

Elbow
04-06-2010, 10:54 AM
I just got a older Power Mac G4 for cheap and am just going to clean it up and sell it probably.

I JUST have the actual computer though and want to get it all complete and running first. Besides the OS is everything else the same as a regular PC? Sorry I am a HUGE Mac noob and have never worked on one.

I need a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and that's about it, no OS disc but I found what OS it runs so will probably find one on eBay.

Specs on the back say nothing special: 450mhz,128mb ram,40gb hd, and a DVD drive.

Inside the ram has been upgraded so that's a plus, is this thing even worth fixing up or is it pretty slow?

.blank cd
04-06-2010, 11:05 AM
What you'll find is that PC machines are resource hogs, so a Mac with the same specs will run faster than the windows machine.

As far as your peripherals, the keybord and mouse are macs, the monitors are universal though

Elbow
04-06-2010, 03:10 PM
What you'll find is that PC machines are resource hogs, so a Mac with the same specs will run faster than the windows machine.

As far as your peripherals, the keybord and mouse are macs, the monitors are universal though

Cool thanks! I got a cheap monitor that I tried and it won't light up, the monitor works, I am thinking maybe the system doesn't have a video driver maybe? The computer turns on, makes the opening sound and sounds good but no picture. Could it be a bad video cars or something?

91LudeSiT
04-06-2010, 10:29 PM
Cool thanks! I got a cheap monitor that I tried and it won't light up, the monitor works, I am thinking maybe the system doesn't have a video driver maybe? The computer turns on, makes the opening sound and sounds good but no picture. Could it be a bad video cars or something?