PDA

View Full Version : Cranking issues

KodyH
03-31-2010, 10:27 AM
I looked around before posting, but as no one has this car I decided to ask.

I drive a 1988 Plymouth Reliant K
2.2L 4 cylinder-stock
I have no check engine light on. I've got brand new spark plugs, wires, distributor cap and battery. The oil is fresh and I've got plenty of gas. When I went to crank the car yesterday, its turns over and sounds cranked, but then it dies out. I heard the fuel pump engage, so I don't think that is it. We thought it could be the fuel filter, and I'm checking that today. I just want to see if anyone else has any ideas what it could be. I'm new to working on cars and want to learn, so any ideas would help.

By the way this is the first mechanical issue I have had from this car.

Barefoot
03-31-2010, 10:34 AM
so it runs for a sec then dies

KodyH
03-31-2010, 10:39 AM
so it runs for a sec then dies

I've only got it to stay once. It ran for five seconds and died. Otherwise it kills out once I let go of the key.

Barefoot
03-31-2010, 11:33 AM
so if u hold the key in the on start position it will stay running. the sec u let go of the key the car turns off.

KodyH
03-31-2010, 11:35 AM
so if u hold the key in the on start position it will stay running. the sec u let go of the key the car turns off.

Yessir. I cannot rev the motor while its turned as well. I tried pumping the gas pedal and it does nothing.

Theycall_Metue
03-31-2010, 11:39 AM
M.A.S maybe?

KodyH
03-31-2010, 11:44 AM
M.A.S maybe?

Wouldn't the check engine light come on with that?

Barefoot
03-31-2010, 12:24 PM
i just want to get this clear u cant rev it because the starter is still engaged and spinning.

Theycall_Metue
03-31-2010, 12:29 PM
i actually not sure if it'll turn the light on, since engine light is always on in my old eclipse
that or it maybe dirty

KodyH
03-31-2010, 12:48 PM
i just want to get this clear u cant rev it because the starter is still engaged and spinning.