PDA

View Full Version : '94 Altima no spark?

bam-bam
03-08-2010, 10:08 PM
This is my wife's 70-some year-old aunt's car. KA24DE with 110K miles. I've been servicing it for at least ten years- no problems. Well, I did replace the distributor 9/'08.

Tonight she brought it to me complaining of it running rough. I listened to it and noted it was skipping. Checking for the skip, I pulled the plug wires off one by one to determine which cylinder (#2 fwiw) was misfiring. So far so good, right?

Before I got any further along, wifey comes out and I'm showing her what I've done- repeating the process of pulling plug wires etc. - and the engine died... and will NOT restart. I checked and there is no ignition spark. What component could I have damaged by removing wires with it running? I checked all of the fuses (that I could find) and found none blown. I'm at a loss what to check first...
The only similar experience that comes to mind is when I fried the coil in an obd1 Integra doing a compression test without removing ECU fuse.

Anybody with experience in this engine? Know how to pull Fault codes? How to shadetree-test ignition components?

discuss...

bam-bam
03-10-2010, 08:20 PM
It was the distributor.

I'd still like to know how to pull DTCs....

5speed
03-11-2010, 12:21 AM
Could be the ignition coil maybe? Had a problem like that with my Camaro and replaced the part and it was fixed.

Kevykev
03-11-2010, 06:45 AM
It was the distributor.

I'm sure oil infiltrated the core huh?

Glad you figured it out. Happened to me before.

bam-bam
03-11-2010, 11:00 AM
Yeah, now that it's running, I still gotta change the water pump and figure out why the steering pump is rattling...

5speed
03-11-2010, 02:38 PM
It was the distributor.

For some reason I thought I read "Is it the distributor?"

:facepalm:

wanganU13
03-13-2010, 07:41 PM