PDA

View Full Version : painting car?

metro larev
03-07-2010, 10:57 PM
anyone got some links for me to look at on how to do it the right way?

BIG WORM
03-08-2010, 06:25 AM
so you have a paint booth in your front yard?...if not you better call macco, or a body shop that has one, cause that's the ONLY right way...

95droppedhatch
03-08-2010, 05:30 PM
so you have a paint booth in your front yard?...if not you better call macco, or a body shop that has one, cause that's the ONLY right way...

yup he is right need a paint booth. but there really isnt any site that tells you how to paint a car. and it takes time to learn to paint a car need to know the chemicals reducers and everything that goes with it to go with the temperture take time and practice i would just google it but if you lived around here i could let you borrow my i-car cd's that i got when i graduated from UTI for autobody and painting that i dont use cause it goes out the window in real life but i can let you borrow it to try and learn but kinda useless just pm me if you are interested im in conyers:goodjob:

1NonlyAccord
03-08-2010, 06:07 PM
heres my 150$ paint job. DIY
http://www.importatlanta.com/forums/showthread.php?t=192467

boostedb16
03-08-2010, 08:31 PM
you dont really have to have a real paint booth. if you have a garage with 4 walls and a roof then thats a start. get plenty of lighting and a big fan, some air filters and wet the floor right before you start to paint and that part is taken care of. get you a good gun and a big enough air compressor. go to the paint store and tell them what you want and it tells you how to mix it on the side of the can. hold your gun 8-12 inch's from the surface at around 28 psi for base coat and 30-32 psi for clear. overlap your strokes. spray at a medium pace. get a hood or something and practice. the best way to learn is to just do it.

2003Accord
03-08-2010, 08:41 PM
Or SprayGlo. lol

boostedb16
03-08-2010, 08:57 PM