PDA

View Full Version : Misc I saw someone die at the gym today...

soxfan30
10-16-2005, 05:33 PM
So I'm working out at LA Fitness on N. Druid Hills, and I'm doing cardio on a bike, watching football, listening to my I-Pod...enjoying myself. I look over across the gym and I see an older man, probably 60s, on the floor, not moving. I thought at first he was just passed out or something, I've seen it happen before. The gym staff gets on the intercom and asks if there's a doctor or nurse in the building to go to the front immediately. Now, I'm not a doctor or a nurse, but I do know first aid. However, since it has been a few years since I've done anything like that, I'm not about to risk this man's chances. Anyways, a few people come over and work on him, and I knew things were bad when the gym staff got a defibulator out for him. There was no signs of life for at least 3-4 minutes. Finally the fire dept comes and they work the guy over, and I guess they got him stabilized and breathing again, because they were in no immediate rush to get the guy to the hospital. After they cleared him out, I talked briefly to one of the firemen, and he said that he was going to be okay and they were taking him to Emory. Pretty scary shit there...I don't know how one can work out while someone is in such bad shape on the ground. The gym staff were asking people to resume their workouts. Now even though I was of no help to them, I still felt somewhat selfish had I gone and continued my workout. I hope the guy is okay though...but it's still pretty scary to see something like that up close.

Hulud
10-16-2005, 06:07 PM
you LIE!
they didnt die

quickdodge®
10-16-2005, 06:15 PM
Why in the hell would you make a title to the thread that someone died when they didn't? That's pretty fucced up, dude. Later, QD.

The Golden Child
10-16-2005, 07:45 PM
so he didnt die ..

HalfBaked
10-16-2005, 07:48 PM
So who'd you see die?

The Ren
10-16-2005, 08:14 PM