PDA

View Full Version : LS-vtec, GSR head, small issue. i'm a newb to vtec.

teh_mugen18
09-20-2009, 10:00 AM
Okay, heres my issue.
I bought a vtec head from someone on a different website, and it didnt come with cams, or a solenoid or any of that. I had to source the parts myself, which i did. But, basically after finding the set of oem cams for the head and installing them with assembly lube on all the journals and rockers, it seems that when you try to turn the intake camshaft its exceptionally difficult to spin. The exhaust one seems to be okay. I checked all the LMA's for any binding, and there is none.

Now, i know that on the non-vtec heads, the cams are so easy that they can be spun by hand almost because the valve springs are so soft. Is it just in the nature of the vtec head that the camshafts can't really be spun by hand because the valve springs are harder, or is it possibly something else that could be wrong with the head? The only thing that worries me is the intake cam, because i'd hate to have it all installed and ready to run and then when we go to hand-turn the engine, the belt slips off and jumps timing because the cam gears are so hard to turn.:no: Can anyone offer some suggestions/advice? This is also my first bit of exposure to vtec parts, so im still learning bit by bit too. It might just be me being overly careful..

ls-r teg
09-20-2009, 10:18 AM
there both suppose to be hard 2 turn? but ona gsr head 1 side has dual valve springs i no that much. 2 lazy to research tho lol

masonhenson
09-20-2009, 10:18 AM
someone help this man

Slomaro Z28
09-20-2009, 10:57 AM
Intake side is where the secondaries are I believe.

http://suspendedhatch.thecarthing.com/gassavers/VTEC-E_diagram.gif

Might be why its harder to turn, just a thought don't take my word on it.

Barefoot
09-20-2009, 12:31 PM
i can turn both sides by hand. do u have any bent valve

Starrfire
09-20-2009, 12:40 PM