PDA

View Full Version : Oil Leak B16

Si_freak
08-21-2009, 09:50 PM
2000 honda civic si B16a2
The block has been machined by Automotive Precision in Forrest Park. Due to old block locking up. i have put all new parts in the block. The head was rebuilt by Dover and checked by Automotive Precision a 2nd time they put a straight edge on it to make sure it was good. Also the block has ITR pistons new with new rings.
We just put this in last night we have pulled up a website that had all torque specs and used them.
The Oil leak is coming from each corner of the head connecting to the block and its a pretty good leak ive lost about 2 quarts of oil in 15 miles. i found the problem and shut the car down.
Im not a mechanic but i know my fair share.
I have looked around on the net trying to find someone with the same problem but the ones ive found arent leaking in the same place.
Any help at all would be great. Thanks,
Pat

Barefoot
08-22-2009, 12:30 AM
sure u got them head bolt tq right.

Tech5
08-22-2009, 12:37 AM
check the torque again..If not must been a shitty gasket.. Or the Oiler plug is out of the block and missing.. I seen this before and cause the same problem..

Si_freak
08-22-2009, 09:26 AM
we done the honda torque specs at 65 foot pounds. i know to some this will be funny but oiler plug? i know theres 2 dowel pins that we had to go to the shop and get. is there another pin im missing? thank you guys for taking the time to read and help ill be checking the torque to make sure again.if someone needs my phone number tell me ill pm it to you. heres something else i found im using arp head studs arp is calling for 80 foot pounds on the head.

carbon_crash
08-22-2009, 09:52 AM
make sure your head gasket isn't on upside down. I've seen it happen and that would explain why you have oil shooting out like that

Barefoot
08-22-2009, 10:38 AM