PDA

View Full Version : Linux questions

jorgen
08-04-2009, 07:28 PM
I'm not familiar with linux at all, and didn't like it, but I want to learn.
I have a lot of them. So lets start with booting:

I've done a linux dual boot setup before.

It went into a different O.S. selection screen, probably linux related.

I have XP, is there a way I can use the microsoft boot screen?

How does booting into linux work?
I know my windows stuff, boot config NTLDR and all that, but not linux.

guinness
08-04-2009, 07:42 PM
for cd/dvd/floppy installation.

I’m not an expert on WindowsNT/2000 by any stretch of the imagination, but I can say that when Windows2000 Pro installs it writes to the master boot record which then points to a file on the root of the system (the C drive in this instance) called “boot.ini”. The “boot.ini” file points to the location of the files necessary to start the OS loading. If you are familiar with Linux and LILO (the LInux LOader) you’ll have an idea of what the “boot.ini” file does, because it acts a little bit like the “lilo.conf” file. Anyways, the “boot.ini” file is what we will be modifying so the windows boot loader knows there is another OS for booting, for now just find it. If you are unable to see it, then you may have “hide system files” turned on.

Open an Explorer window, go to the Tools pull down menu and select Folder Options and then the View tab. There you should see radio buttons to Show hidden files and folders, check it, and uncheck Hide protected operating system files (Recommended), hit OK at the bottom and you should now be able to see boot.ini in the root directory.