PDA

View Full Version : Gotta pull an engine... for the 1st time

jesusfreak11
05-31-2009, 08:44 PM
So like the title says, I gotta pull an engine out of my 96 accord lx (factory F22B2), and i've never done it before. I've been reading in the Haynes manual, and it looks fairly straightforward: get under the car, jack up the engine a bit, undo the 5 mounting brackets, and then... ?

Anything else I need to unplug or take off? I want to pull the tranny out with it, so where exactly do I disconnect the shifter cables?

Someone told me something about some wires, but I really don't remember what he said.

Sorry for the newb questions, but like I said, this is the first time I've pulled an engine, so I'm a little uneducated. Any advice and tips would be greatly appreciated too.

'precianate it

JITB
05-31-2009, 08:49 PM
Pull axles
Disconnect the harness (id suggest to disconnect the harness from the ecu, and pull it thru the firewall, so you can put it back on the new motor.
Disconnect exhaust manifold
Drain fluids

its not too complicated.. just got to keep up with your bolts, and pay attention to what your doing.

You_Wish
05-31-2009, 08:50 PM
lol.... you need some help fool.?

jesusfreak11
05-31-2009, 08:55 PM
lol, of course ^^^

why u think i posted? :)

nah, but i gotta guy comin this weekend that wants to buy the engine outta my wrecked car, so i gotta get it ready to be pulled

Pull axles
Disconnect the harness (id suggest to disconnect the harness from the ecu, and pull it thru the firewall, so you can put it back on the new motor.
Disconnect exhaust manifold
Drain fluids

its not too complicated.. just got to keep up with your bolts, and pay attention to what your doing.

crap, didnt know i had to drop the axle. and i take it the "fluids" includes the tranny fluid too, huh? does Advance Auto/Autozone/etc. take that stuff, or do I need to take it to a shop or somethin? thanks

JITB
05-31-2009, 09:03 PM
lol, of course ^^^

why u think i posted? :)