PDA

View Full Version : how hard it is it to swap a motor?

blacknightteg
05-14-2009, 11:03 PM
seriously, i wandering how hard it it is to swap a b20 into my car. i really don't know where else to go. i honestly dont want to get raped in labor charges either to be honest with you. but yeah how hard is it or whom do you all suggest i talk to.

G.C
05-14-2009, 11:33 PM
It is not hard at all. If you have common sense, and some set of tools, you'll be good to go.

blacknightteg
05-14-2009, 11:35 PM
i really want to do it myself. but i just dont know how hard it will be. i mean i want to learn how to do it thought. but yeah. i guess its just cause i have never done it before.

Homer Simpson
05-14-2009, 11:39 PM
I easy, dude. Seriously, I know it can be intimidating at first, but do some research, get some nice tools, and a buddy or two, you'll be good to go.

Hardest thing for me is the wiring...

I did a buddy's car with a couple of friends in 1 night. Got it running the next morning.

Homer Simpson
05-14-2009, 11:46 PM
Here's the steps that I did when I did my swap and my buddies:

1. Drain coolant, tranny fliud, oil (you ain't got to do oil)

2. Break axle nut (32mm)

3. Jack up car and break lower ball joint.

4. Swing hub assembly outta way and pull the axles out. (may need pry bar)

5. Take shift linkage off (including B***h pin)

6. Take off lower mounts and tranny mount and detatch header from cat. (Last thing to do under car)

7. Take all vaccum hoses off, wiring, throttle body cable, clutch line, ac, upper and lower radiator hoses.

8. Secure hoist to tranny and screw a bolt to the rear of the motor and support the motor with no slack.

9. Take off driving side mount and tranny mount and raise the thang out. You're done.

There's more little details that you'll run through, but thats the meat of it.

Barefoot
05-15-2009, 12:02 AM
not hard at all if u have some mechanical experience.

Theycall_Metue
05-15-2009, 07:51 AM
its mainly mounts and engine harness