PDA

View Full Version : Have an Oil Leak, need help diagnosing.

blacknightteg
04-28-2009, 04:46 PM
so i noticed a few minutes ago that i have an oil leak. its not where near the oil pan and i cant see anything from the top. i look to the left of it and i see a dried up build up of oil. im assuming around the clutch? forgive my ignorance. can anyone help me figure this out. sorry for the lack of info.

mocha latte cupcake
04-28-2009, 04:48 PM
yes lack of info is correct. sigh

check from the top down davison...

valve cover gasket
distributor
manifolds
pcv
blowby hoses

*best thing to do is actually spend time CLEANING your engine bay then check it every day or so its ALOT easier to see things that way*

also, oil filter/housing

blacknightteg
04-28-2009, 04:54 PM
yeah, i know. sorry about the lack of info, its just that im not too good with engines and what not so i dont really know what to expect or look for. i looked to see where it was dripping from and im ASSUMING its near the clutch, not 100% correct. its on more of the middle/passenger side of the car.

Black4DrEK
04-28-2009, 07:34 PM
Its not coming from the CLUTCH!!

do what the OP said and pressure wash the motor, check in a few days!

ACTUALLY take a pic and post up exactly what your talkin bout!

o and when you pressure wash it or hose wash , cover the dizzy and alt with plastic bag or somethin!

turbob20
04-28-2009, 11:55 PM
cam plug seal, or dizzy seal, will leak and run down the motor and tranny seperation line where they are bolted together and when dirt an debris collect on it it builds up like this.

Sammich
04-29-2009, 07:52 AM
take a pic of where you are talking about. but if its coming from your 'clutch' then its your rear main oil seal. you change it when you do your clutch normally cuz the trans has to come off, so in most cases its a preventative maintenance. since you said you are rebuilding your engine soon, replace your clutch and the rear main oil seal.