PDA

View Full Version : Pontiac Sunfire having problems

NcTurnL
12-22-2008, 05:13 PM
Hey guys

My mom has a 99 pontiac sunfire GT and it overheats every now and then but hasnt given us much problems until today. She was driving today then next thing she knows the temp is way up and the car is loosing power. She pulls over and the car wont start, it will crank over but it wont start and after she pulled over to the side it was leaking coolant, That pretty much tells me the radiator gave out or the temp blew the reseviuor.
The question is though, it doesnt really start anymore, Im guessing the headgasket blew and/or the head is warped? Also is the block aluminum as well? Any more suggestions on what to do would be appreciated.

Thanks
-Jon

Barefoot
12-22-2008, 08:00 PM
its done

Init2winit
12-22-2008, 09:07 PM
Yep

NcTurnL
12-22-2008, 11:29 PM
im pretty sure as well. But is the damage, assuming we know, repairable?
I work on cars for a living, so I know I can fix this I just want to be sure it will be worth my time, or if she should just get another car.

Help me out:

It needs a head and a head gasket, and all the other obvious things. Unless the block is cracked and/or the piston rings are fried, could this be fixed on a somewhat budget?

Thanks
-Jon

Dracc
12-23-2008, 12:27 AM
your better of getting a new motor or a new car.. I was just going to say replace the thermostat before it got worst but it did..

Thighs
12-23-2008, 01:05 AM
actually this exact thing happened to a friends f body. im guessing this has the same 3800 series engine?