PDA

View Full Version : Auto painting

fdiaz
08-24-2005, 11:34 PM
Hello im new to the fourms. And gotta say keep up the good work on the fourms . I have a 2002 ford explorer and would like to paint my grey trim thats on it. Only problem is its platic and has texture. Any way i can make it an even surface? Thanks in advance. Oh by the way anyone in flowery branch?

http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/40738129_8642/f83d/__sr_/d83a.jpg?ph24UDDB5XVn5O.z

MrEG62U
08-25-2005, 05:23 PM
sand with a very fine grit sand paper is the only way i can think

chuck
08-25-2005, 07:02 PM
hmmmm, best way i could think of would be first scuff it up with some 80 grit sand papaer or scotch brite...then put some stuff called bulldog primer on it then put some 2K/highbuild primer on, i'd do a couple coats on then sand it down...then paint your color on...that would keep it the straightest...if you just try to sand it as it is then it might look wavy or warped...

just depends how much time and money you want to put into/get out of it

tluve69
08-26-2005, 09:33 PM
wo 80 grit man thats a lil much, I pulled my trucks front air dam off and sanded it with 400, took a few sheets but alot less filling for the primer to do. the trick is to put a little primer(cpl coats) not 5/6 then wet sand and shoot ya base and clear,

chuck
08-26-2005, 10:34 PM
probably the scotch brite more so than the 80 grit...just depends how textured it is already...and the second sanding either 220 or 300

flysi00
08-27-2005, 10:37 AM
hmmmm, best way i could think of would be first scuff it up with some 80 grit sand papaer or scotch brite...then put some stuff called bulldog primer on it then put some 2K/highbuild primer on, i'd do a couple coats on then sand it down...then paint your color on...that would keep it the straightest...if you just try to sand it as it is then it might look wavy or warped...

just depends how much time and money you want to put into/get out of it

that sounds right

dohc_ls
08-27-2005, 03:08 PM