PDA

View Full Version : Pretty cool bday present (Military stuff)

tony
05-30-2008, 08:44 PM
I don't really have a close relationship with my Dad but he does know I'm studying for the AFOQT (Air Force Officer Qualification Test) and sent me a framed painting from Alaska:

http://www.sunjamstudios.com/EielsonTankerLink.jpg

It probably seems insignificant cause its just a painting but I know if I test well enough Pilot school MIGHT be an option so its nice to look up and have that extra motivation.

b18hb
05-30-2008, 09:21 PM
nice man, happy bday and good luck with it. that is something i have wanted to do for a long time, but life and my attitude toward education in high school have made it a rather unlikely possibility for me. i hope it works out for you though. that would be awesome.

tony
05-30-2008, 09:24 PM
nice man, happy bday and good luck with it. that is something i have wanted to do for a long time, but life and my attitude toward education in high school have made it a rather unlikely possibility for me. i hope it works out for you though. that would be awesome.

You would be suprised how quickly that can turn around (grades) I had a 1.9gpa in high school and now have a 3.5 in college. Sometimes it just takes a little time to be focused in school... it certainly wasnt for me coming straight out of high school.

b18hb
05-31-2008, 11:14 AM
the education part of it isn't as much an issue as the sacrifices i'd have to make as far as family goes. i got married, have an infant daughter, and just found out that we need to be making preparations for another rugrat. i'm going to school full time right now (13 cr hrs on top of 50-55 hours a week obligated to work. i've decided to pursue an aerospace engineering degree instead. it just seems like it will offer a bit more stability.

Vteckidd
05-31-2008, 11:30 AM
tony my father was a col in the air force and is now a contractor that works with the govt, if you need anything let me know