PDA

View Full Version : Academics = Intelligence?

tony
05-07-2008, 07:43 PM
Just reading through the thread with the Autumn chick and she was explaining how she tested better than 95% of GA students. This topic is no knock to her but I am interested to know what peoples thoughts are on the subject. Do good grades and high test scores translate to intelligence?

I'll share my experience after a few replies, people tend to think I'm well versed in academics when honestly I barely graduated high school with a 1.9gpa.

Buttons
05-07-2008, 07:45 PM
eh, i have a 3.3

GPA and Standardize Testing doesn't mean ish.

PS... its 99% better than GA students.

Reaper
05-07-2008, 07:49 PM
I graduated high school with a 2.4gpa...and I got a 1180 sat score...neither of which is something to brag about...But I'm only 21 and I'm a licensed commercial real estate agent and a personal trainer..and a "college dropout"... and I had a 1.3 gpa @ valdosta state..so no I don't think grades and test scores translate to intelligence..

Buttons
05-07-2008, 07:51 PM
they don't mean ish. like i said.

bandydesign
no, I believe there are different types of intelligence.

Buttons
no, I believe there are different types of intelligence.

x2

Revmaynard
05-07-2008, 07:53 PM
My dad never made it through school and has trouble knowing parts of speech and such, but I would never say anything bad about that or say he's not smart. He knows how to do things I would never understand and that's one reason I look up to him with so much admiration.

wantboost
05-07-2008, 07:57 PM
common sense goes a long ways....

Double_0_Rusty
05-07-2008, 07:59 PM