PDA

View Full Version : Slight hesitation when boosting? S5 TII

skillzilla
04-11-2008, 12:40 PM
Hey hey, new rotary owner here, and of course I am working through some bugs in the new car. Its an S5 TII with a JDM swap done fairly recently.

Basically whats going on is a slight stumble any time the car starts building boost, or less vacuum I guess. It occurs at any RPM, any gear, under load or just revving. When the car is idling it is pulling good vacuum, and I couldnt find any obvious vacuum leaks. From an idle, when the throttle is pressed, it hesitates for just a second before revving. At that point it revs freely and builds boost fine.

It also happens when driving, whether the car is in boost or vacuum, just a slight hesitation right when the throttle is pressed. I'm no expert, but it seems like the car is running rich and the excess fuel is causing the hesitation, once it burns off the excess it runs fine.

Possibly related, the car doesnt like to idle when the throttle is lifted, it wants to stall out almost like a car with an atmospheric BOV would. I dont have much rotary experience at all but these two problem seem textbook for a boost leak, although I havent found anything yet. The car has the IACV, air pump, and BAC removed so that could definitely play a part also Im sure.

Anyways, just looking for ideas, I bought this car mainly to learn more about rotaries and its helping so far :)

David88vert
04-11-2008, 08:24 PM
Clean out the BAC, set the TPS. Check the grounding of the computer and the battery.

Go to teamfc3s.org and learn more.....

skillzilla
04-11-2008, 08:33 PM
Read my post :) BAC is removed.

I regrounded the main ECU ground and the firewall ground, and checked all the other major grounds in the engine bay. They are all good. TPS was checked but I am checking it again tomorrow, I used the multimeter method before and am going to try the LED light method now. Also going to change plugs and re-time it. I'll let you know.

skillzilla