PDA

View Full Version : anyone here a firefighter?

08-15-2007, 09:40 PM
I am becoming more and more interested in becoming a firefighter and was curious if anyone here was one. If so, any advice and what do I need to do prior to applying? Classes? Certifications? Any help would be appreciated. (I am currently a HS teacher...interesting career transition, I know...but I am only 22).

Firefightin_tC
08-15-2007, 10:38 PM
I am becoming more and more interested in becoming a firefighter and was curious if anyone here was one. If so, any advice and what do I need to do prior to applying? Classes? Certifications? Any help would be appreciated. (I am currently a HS teacher...interesting career transition, I know...but I am only 22).

I'm a firefighter/EMT with Clayton County for about three years now.

Best advice I can give is be patient, I don't know about Macon-Bibb County Fire but it took me six months to get on with Clayton County.

On top of that, get in shape because training will bust your balls to Sunday and back again.

But once you're online...you're golden. Most department will certify you for whatever you need, EMT/Paramedic/Haz-Mat, etc, etc.

redrumracer
08-15-2007, 10:50 PM
also join a volunteer fire department. i used to be a volunteer firefighter and they can send you training and get you at least familiar with how to do things. plus you get to meet a lot of great people. being in shape is also a good word of advice.

ORGANIZATIONXIII
08-16-2007, 01:13 AM
my buddy CB is a firefighter in Clayton Co..

if you wanna talk to him, I'll forward you his info..

BiH1320
08-16-2007, 03:00 AM
I wanna be a cop!
How do I become one?
What should I do? Where to make a move? Im confused. Someone help me out.

ruah_23
08-16-2007, 06:14 PM

1.Make sure your background is clean.Clean means no DUI,Drugs,excessive speeding ticket,criminal history ect ect.