PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk diesels!!!!

blackshine007
08-12-2007, 10:35 AM
Ok, call me an idiot or exploit my ignorance, but if you have a diesel and you're upgrading the turbos, why would anyone in their right minds drop the compression to 10:1? I would really like to understand that concept. Thanks in advance.

allmotoronly
08-12-2007, 11:02 AM
I have no clue. Diesels run on compression. they do not have spark plugs, and they rely on high compression to cause detonation. will a diesel even idle with 10.0:1 C/R?

japan4racing
08-12-2007, 11:13 AM
i thought low comression for a diesel was like 14-15:1.......will the diesel even combust with compression that low? i wonder if they up the fuel pressure more to atomize it better.....diesels also run super high fuel pressure..i guess if you ran more it would make for a better chance of igniting but it does seem kinda stupid to run 10:1....im not a diesel expert though.

blackshine007
08-12-2007, 11:17 AM
Well according to the guy rattling off specs about someone else's diesel truck (he's a member in here) He said that it was a twin turbo set up on 10:1 compression. I asked the same exact question. It crunk up with no problem being that it was warm already. I would assume it wouldn't do shit at that low. So let's just call the guy "Genious" for a moment. The guy in the diesel truck was doing some crazy ass drifting in the parking lot. I thought the thing was gonna flip from hitting the curb and/or take out the light poll a couple of times. I asked "Genious" what was done to it. He was like "The guy said it has a twin turbo set up on 10:1 compression....."
me: WOW!!! That's low!!!
Genious: What do you mean low?
me: Umm, why would you wanna lower the compression that low on a diesel?
Genious: (giving me a look like I'm a dumbass) To get more air into it!!! (giving me the duh look and walks away)