PDA

View Full Version : Misc Anyone here wakeboard???

Z32redondo
04-30-2007, 08:10 AM
My parents got a good deal on an older searay and i am looking to get into the sport. Any tips or techniques that might help me learn. I have never done it before so tips on basic manuevering (SP) and jumping the wake a little will be helpful. Also buying a board in the next couple of weeks so if anyone has one sitting in the corner I have cash.

81911SC
04-30-2007, 08:55 AM
I'll check with my friend, he has a 06 Hyperlite Parks board laying around. Starting will be the hardest part till you get it. Float on your butt, knees bent and bottom of board facing the boat. Keep your hands in close and on each end of the handle. Do not try to stand up to fast or jump in any way. When the boat starts to move, just sit in that position and let the boat pull you up, remember do not stand up to fast. The boat will also straighten you up and there ya go. Anything else just ask.:goodjob:

ScreaminZetec
04-30-2007, 09:07 AM
WARNING LONG ASS POST!!!!

Getting up isnt too bad if you know the basics. The best places I've found for tips and info are wakeworld.com and wakeboarder.com I ride CWB boards and love them, I dont think i would change brands as there stuff is top notch and they have the best customer service I have ever seen.

You want a decent board and good bindings. If you buy one of those crapy board packages you'll end up out growing the board by the end of the summer. I started with a CWB Sol but out grew it in about 4 months. Maybe look at the CWB Faction with Faction bindings. I hear its a great board to start on and you will probably not out grow it.

As for getting up, its not too hard. Here how it was explained to me and it worked great. And I have taught 6 people to get up this way too. First you need to decide which foot you want to ride in the back. I ride with my left foot back, but most ride with their right foot back. Which ever feels better. More on this later.