PDA

View Full Version : Autocross platforms.

AZN_Pride
04-04-2007, 09:20 AM
OK here is the deal. I wont to get into Autocross but I do not know what is a good platform to begin with. As of now I have a 93 240sx Coupe, but I don't know if I should use that for Autocross or not. As you can tell I'm a beginner but I really want to get into it. Should I use the 240 or go with a different car?

santacruz77
04-04-2007, 09:51 AM
it depends do you just want to have fun or do you want to be competive? the 240 would be hard to win in unless your a great driver but it would be fun, to be cheap and fast id say get like a ef hatch or crx somthing like that

AZN_Pride
04-04-2007, 09:54 AM
Yea. the 240 s more for drifting and what not. Im leaning towards and EG right now.

I'm basically doing it for fun. I'm not the drifting type.

santacruz77
04-04-2007, 10:05 AM
ya but 240s can handle real good and be fast just takes some time, one just one the season last year... i honestly think ef's are better for it, also it depend on which class your looking to be in.

man
04-04-2007, 11:16 AM
Use the 240

StraightSix
04-04-2007, 11:23 AM
I think your current car is just fine to begin autocrossing. I wouldn't worry too much about being competitive at your first several autocrosses, especially in the Atlanta Region.

The poster above is correct a 240SX did win the national title in STS. However, STS rules allow some modifications that the stock classes don't. Your car is in G-Stock, assuming that it isn't modified beyond the scope of the stock class rules (i.e. stock classing allows a cat-back, replacement struts/shocks, and DOT R-comp tires). That puts you in the same class as the new Mini Cooper S. They pretty much dominate that class.

Autocrossing is a lot of fun, and will teach you a lot about car control. Those are the two most important things to focus on regarding autocross. Learn the basics first, then worry about being competitive.