PDA

View Full Version : Looking at getting a Nikon D40

Sol-Badguy
03-05-2007, 08:05 AM
Any users? I'd like a few opinions because I'm only an occasional photographer, and looking to get a DSLR. I'm looking at this one at Best Buy because it's a great camera for my tastes and in my price range ($599).

Pros/Cons?

blacknightteg
03-05-2007, 08:10 AM
if you have the money to do it, do it. But, in my opinion, if you are only an occasional photographer and dont shoot that much, it im assuming being your first dslr. i would go with a canon, something along the lines of rebel xt or xti those two camera's in my opinion are marketed towards begginner users

the nikon d40 is a very good dslr but for someone starting out i wouldnt go to that. thats just my opinion, its a little bit more in depth then you might what, nikons are built for professionals even their lower end slr's but they are good camera's none the less.

Nemesis
03-05-2007, 08:24 AM
^ Oh no, you're going to stir up a shit storm with the Canon guys :lmao:

The XT is comparable to the D50/70. The XTi is comparable to the D80. The 30D is comparable to the D200. And so on. Follow those guidelines.