PDA

View Full Version : camera question...

Ed
02-21-2007, 03:31 PM
Im looking to buy a camera, but im a total newb on the subject. I want something nice, but not too fancy. Im not looking to be a professional photographer, but I do wanna take some better pics than the regular $150 cameras...

I was looking at the Finepix S9100. It seems nice enough. Anyone ever had one? Or have a better "bang for the buck" option? Thanks for all the input.

Slowboy
02-21-2007, 03:36 PM
My sister has a canon sd630, very nice camera its about 2 months old im sure she might let it go for bout 200...
example of the quality.
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/curtway/IMG_0058.jpg
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d83/curtway/IMG_0446.jpg
I really enjoyed the camera while i had it for bout 2 days then gave it to my lil sis. I paid bout 300 out the door.

blacknightteg
02-21-2007, 03:41 PM
lemme ask you something, are you ever going to blow anythign up over an 8x10? if your not then in all honestly you dont need anything that is about over 6 megapixels.

if the case is that you want take pictures an blow them up over an 8x10, like 16x20 to maybe a little bigger, then yea, i would get something thats at least 7 to 8. if your not looking at doing anything crazy perfessional then you really dont need anything higher then that.

If i were you, sounds like you want something with a little bit more options and what not along with quailty. My personal preference that i like and sell most of at work is canon. more specifically, for something thats not so professional but still gives you options. i would go with something like the Canon S3IS or maybe the Sony H5.

the canon S3IS has good options, allows you to do good shots and not so crappy. has the image stabilizer on it so that will help you out a little bit and a good lense. Its one of the best "prosumer" models in my opinon.