PDA

View Full Version : Child support laws ???

sidewayz
01-12-2007, 09:13 AM
Alright guys im 19 years old and my dad owes 20,000+ .He was my moms second husaband and IM NOT HIS KID , but he did adopt me and they got divorced. Well before you guys say "you shouldnt be hittin up that guy for money" or anything like that , just know he beat the fuck out of me since the divorce (that was when i was six) till i was thirteen and he found a new wife and kicked me straight the fuck out ............ Well anyways to the point . He is tryin to say since im past 18 he DOES NOT have to pay the backtime child support . So does anyone on here know ????

please keep all negative shit to yourself cause i am really not in the mood to be roasted on cause im a noob

HEATON
01-12-2007, 09:35 AM
Well, not too up on current issues like this, but technically yes, since he adopted you he became a legal guardian. So he is legally binding to pay. BUT since you are over 18, I dont see why he would have to pay. Like if you were only 17, then he would have to pay all owed childsupport.

Side note. Not bein negative or trying to suggest anything, but if he was abusive why not just forget about him all together. Unless yall still have somewhat a relationshp. Jus my opinion and feel free to tell me to shut up. No worries. Can't go wrong with talkin to an attorney about this though, in civil cases go with one of those he only collects if you do typeadeals. You may not get the whole 20k but you better believe he'd work his ass off to get you a majority of it.

sidewayz
01-12-2007, 09:44 AM
Well, not too up on current issues like this, but technically yes, since he adopted you he became a legal guardian. So he is legally binding to pay. BUT since you are over 18, I dont see why he would have to pay. Like if you were only 17, then he would have to pay all owed childsupport.